Two challengers, one incumbent win seats on Crescenta Valley Water District Board of Directors

leave a comment »

In the most competitive race in recent years, two incumbents lost their seats on the Crescenta Valley Water District Board of Directors Tuesday.


Creative Commons

Challengers Kerry Erickson and James Bodnar and incumbent director Richard Atwater won the three available seats on the district’s five person board.

The 11,725 registered voters living in the unincorporated areas of La Crescenta and Montrose were eligible to vote for three candidates.

According to the Los Angeles County Registrar, the vote counts were:

  • Kerry Erickson, challenger: 888 votes
  • James Bodnar, challenger: 697 votes
  • Richard Atwater, incumbent: 695 votes
  • Charles  Beatty, incumbent: 508 votes
  • Wendy Alane Smith, incumbent: 404 votes
  • Vasken Yardemian, incumbent board president: 343 votes

The board makes policy decisions for the district, voting on everything from water conservation efforts to customer rates and capital improvement projects.

The five directors serve four-year terms, with three directors elected in one group and two directors in another.

Check back later for updates.


Written by Melanie Hicken

November 4, 2009 at 9:57 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: