His attire choice leaves some at Burbank High seeing red

leave a comment »

When I wake up at 6:30 in the morning to get dressed for the day, I don’t think about my choice of attire.

Maybe I should pay more attention.

I made the mistake of choosing a red shirt to wear Wednesday. How dumb of me. I should have realized that when putting on that shirt at the crack of dawn, that I would be covering a Burbank-Burroughs boys’ water polo match that afternoon.

Red just so happens to be the Indians’ color. Apparently, I’m not allowed to wear red or blue (the Bulldogs’ color) to any of the teams’ games, least I be accused of showing favoritism to one side or the other.

On Wednesday, my attire choice caused some friction with a number of Burbank coaches, the athletic director, Bulldogs players and even a booster club member.

They chastised me, ridiculed me and even asked me to take off the shirt (I had a white T-shirt underneath).

One of those players was Leo Rodas, a running back on the football team. A few weeks ago, I wore the same red shirt to a Burbank football game. On the sideline, during a game, Rodas scolded me about my color choice.

Just my luck, Rodas came strolling onto the pool deck Wednesday, killing time before an evening gridiron practice. When he saw me, he approached, rolling his eyes and shaking his head.

“Mr. Tully, didn’t we have this discussion a few weeks ago?,” Rodas said, pointing to my shirt. “You can’t be wearing that color around here. I can get you a blue shirt if you want? Even better, I’ll get you one of my own jerseys.”

Thank goodness he was just joking.

Written by Jeff Tully

October 29, 2009 at 2:05 pm

Posted in Sports

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

