Group honored in Burroughs Athletic Hall of Fame

leave a comment »

Burroughs Athletic Hall of Fame inductees and family members were honored Thursday at Memorial Field (Roger Wilson/The Leader).

Burroughs Athletic Hall of Fame inductees and family members were honored Thursday at Memorial Field (Roger Wilson/The Leader).

From a coach, to athletes to a city official and alumna who has helped support the school’s stadium renovation project, the honorees ran the gambit Thursday as the latest class was inducted into the Burroughs Athletic Hall of Fame.

Former Indians standout players Keith Jarbo, Jennifer Wagner (Penczar), Mary Ann Wagner (Murret) and Alfonso Tucay joined former boys’ soccer Coach Mike Kodama and Mary Alvord were honored at the induction event at Memorial Field.

“It’s just awesome to be honored like this,” said Jarbo, a former All-CIF and all-league football and basketball player. “This is something that I would have never even dreamed of. Just to be still thought about is great.”

Kodama said he was humbled by the honor.

“I just really appreciate the school thinking of me and doing this,” said Kodama, whose teams won seven league championships in his 23 years with the program. “For me, this honor is really all about the guys who played for me over the years. I wouldn’t be here without all of them.”

During the event, inductees were taken into the Burroughs gym where they were able to view their names permanently placed on a wall dedicated to the hall of fame honorees.

Said Alvord: “This one means a lot to me. I saw my name up there in the gym and I have to tell you, it gave me chills. Just to think that my grandchildren are going to be able to walk in there some day and say ‘That’s my grandma.’ That’s just so special.”

Written by Jeff Tully

October 9, 2009 at 2:40 pm

Posted in Sports

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

